“To find one’s way or to lose it”

There is a frivolous and fanciful debate I have often had with a friend, about whether it is better to find one’s way or to lose it, to remember the road or to forget it. I am so constituted as to be capable of losing my way in my own village and almost in my own house. And I am prepared to maintain the privilege to be a poetic one. In truth I am prepared to maintain that both attitudes are valuable, and should exist side by side. And so my friend and I walk side by side along the ways of the world, he being full of a rich and humane sentiment, because he remembers passing that way a few hundred times since his childhood; while to me existence is a perpetual fairy-tale, because I have forgotten all about it. The lamp-post which moves him to a tear of reminiscence wrings from me a cry of astonishment; and the wall which to him is as historic as a pyramid is to me as arresting and revolutionary as a barricade.

— The New Jerusalem (1920).

Published in: on November 4, 2015 at 10:37 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chesterton.wordpress.com/2015/11/04/to-find-ones-way-or-to-lose-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

