Suddenly in the Midst of Friends

Suddenly in the midst of friends,
Of brothers known to me more and more,
And their secrets, histories, tastes, hero-worships,
Schemes, love-affairs, known to me
\; \; \; Suddenly I felt lonely.
Felt like a child in a field with no more games to play
Because I have not a lady
\; \; \; to whom to send my thoughts at that hour
\; \; \; that she might crown my peace.

(c.1895).

Published in: on September 28, 2011 at 7:22 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chesterton.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/suddenly-in-the-midst-of-friends/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ain’t that the truth… *sigh*

  2. Sympathies all around…


Leave a Reply

