“The way to respect a religion”

We talk much about “respecting” this or that person’s religion; but the way to respect a religion is to treat it as a religion: to ask what are its tenets and what are the consequences. But modern tolerance is deafer than intolerance. The old religious authorities, at least, defined a heresy before they condemned it, and read a book before they burned it. But we are always saying to a Mormon or a Moslem — “Never mind about your religion, come to my arms.” To which he naturally replies — “But I do mind about my religion, and I advise you to mind your eye.”

The Illustrated London News, 13 May 1911.

Published in: on September 7, 2011 at 3:19 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chesterton.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/the-way-to-respect-a-religion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] h/t: The Hebdomadal Chesterton […]

  2. Reminds me of the discussions I used to have with a pagan-universalist girlfriend I used to have. She was always insistent that all religions were talking about the same things, which conveniently happened to coincide with the core tenets of her beliefs. “It’s not about beliefs,” she would say, “but about the same worldview those beliefs point towards.” She would get perpetually frustrated with how closed-minded and provincial I was being whenever I replied that my religion’s core tenets are not the same as her religion’s core tenets, and that her worldview was not my worldview. Suffice it to say that she eventually dumped me for not converting to her views, which is funny because I’M the Christian and we’re always told how we’re the horrible sort of people who would do stuff like that because we’re so intolerant.


Leave a Reply

