“To have and to enjoy”

I go back to my writing table; at least I do not exactly go back to it, because they have taken it away, with silent treachery, while I was meditating on death at the window. I sit down on the chair and try to write on my knee; which is really difficult, especially when one has nothing to write about. I feel strangely grateful to the noble wooden quadruped on which I sit. Who am I that the children of men should have shaped and carved for me four extra wooden legs besides the two that were given me by the gods? For it is the point of all deprivation that it sharpens the idea of value; and, perhaps, that is, after all, the reason of the riddle of death. In a better world, perhaps, we may permanently possess, and permanently be astonished at possession. In some strange estate beyond the stars we may manage at once to have and to enjoy. But in this world, through some sickness at the root of psychology, we have to be reminded that a thing is ours by its power of disappearance.

– “On Being Moved”, in On Lying in Bed.
[original source unknown (to The Hebdomadarian)]

Published in: on February 6, 2008 at 2:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chesterton.wordpress.com/2008/02/06/to-have-and-to-enjoy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

